Boards and Commissions

Boards & Commissions

Income Tax Review Board

The Income Tax Review Board meets as needed. Please see Ohio Revised Code 718.11 Local Board of tax review for more information.

Board Members

June 2019–June 2021 term

  • Jennifer Koder
  • Linda Lee
  • Kevin Thornton

Planning Commission

Planning Commission reviews requests for variances to the Swanton Village Zoning Code, Conditional Use Permits, and Site Plan Reviews. Five member commission consisting of the Mayor, and a member of the Village Council; and three electors of the municipality, all appointed by the Mayor, subject to the approval of a majority of the members elected to Council. Each appointee shall serve for a term of six years, except the member of Council, whose term shall not exceed his or her term of office on Council.

Board Members

2018-2023 term

  • Mayor Neil Toeppe (2020-2023)
  • Councilwoman Dianne Westhoven (2020-2021)
  • Roger DeGood, Chairman
  • Chuck Erdman
  • Kevin Young

Records Commission

The functions of the records commission are to provide rules for retention and disposal of records of the municipal corporation, and to review applications for one-time disposal of obsolete records and schedules of records retention and disposition submitted by municipal offices. The commission may dispose of records pursuant to the procedure outlined in section 149.381 of the Revised Code. The records commission, at any time, may review any schedule it has previously approved and, for good cause shown, may revise that schedule under the procedure outlined in that section. The Village of Swanton’s Records Commission is composed of the chief executive or the chief executive’s appointed representative, as chairperson, and the chief fiscal officer, the chief legal officer, and a citizen appointed by the chief executive. The records commission has an appointed secretary, who may or may not be a member of the commission and who shall serve at the pleasure of the commission. The commission may employ an archivist or records manager to serve under its direction. The commission shall meet at least once every six months and upon the call of the chairperson.

Board Members


  • Alan Lehenbauer, Village Solicitor
  • Rosanna Hoelzle, Village Administrator
  • Jennifer Harkey, Village Fiscal Officer
  • Stephanie Fessenden
  • Mary Smith

Tree Commission

The Swanton Village Tree Commission helps oversee the care, preservation, trimming, planting, replanting, removal or disposition of trees and shrubs in public areas. Members of the Tree Commission help to educate and inform our residents about the proper care and selection of trees and shrubs. The Tree Commission’s mission is to implement the best management practices to help maximize the economic, environmental, and social benefits of a sustainable urban forest for the residents of Swanton, Ohio.

2019 Tree Commission Annual Report to Village Council

Board Members

Each serves a 3 year term

  • Rickeye Hefner (term ends December 31, 2020)
  • Joyce Miller (term ends December 31, 2022)

Ex Officio

  • Mayor Toeppe

Village Council Member: advisory, non-voting

Volunteer Auxiliary Commission Members: non-voting

  • Curt Smith